Follow the Enumclaw (WA) High School Water Polo Teams on Twitter @EnumclawPolo and Instagram @EnumclawWaterPolo. You can contact us by email at enumclawpolo@gmail.com

Curtis Vikings Win State Championship Title

The Curtis High School Boys Water Polo Team finished their undefeated 2015 campaign with a win over Bellevue in the State Championship game on Saturday to claim the Washington State Boys Water Polo State Championship.

The dramatic win, 9-7 in overtime, claimed the title from the four-time defending State champion Bellevue Wolverines.

The two teams played to a 1-1 tie after one period, and Curtis held a slim 2-1 halftime advantage. The Vikings stretched their lead to two goals after three periods, but Bellevue fought back to tie the game 6-6 at the end of regulation play.

High school rules mandate two three-minute overtime periods in the event of a tie, even if one team holds a lead after the first overtime. Curtis held a 7-6 lead after one overtime, and sealed the deal with a 9-7 lead at the end of the second overtime, to clinch the win.

The Vikings went undefeated throughout their 2015 season, with an average margin of victory of 13 goals in their regular season games. Curtis had convincing wins over their division opponents to claim first place in the South Division. and won the Region II Championship to qualify for State.

This was the third time in the past four years that Curtis and Bellevue have faced off in the championship game. The Wolverines have won the championship four the previous four years; the Vikings held the previous title, in 2010.

All-Tournament Teams

MVP Sam Abbott - Curtis
MVP Defense AJ Rossman - Bellevue
MVP Goalie Andrew Gronlund - Curtis
Coach of the Year Dennis Piccolotto - Curtis

First Team
Andrew Gronlund - Curtis
Sam Abbott - Curtis
Ryan St. John - Curtis
Cameron Hayes - Bellevue
Zack Rossman - Bellevue
Conner Vacca - Mercer Island
Beau Pasquier - Puyallup

Second Team
Troy Friedman - Curtis
Garrett Friedman - Curtis
AJ Rossman - Bellevue
Mario Abdel Shahed - Bellevue
Ford Witman - Mercer Island
Hunter Peshkin - Mercer Island
Christian Braddock - Puyallup

Honorable Mention

David Ling - Curtis
Mina Abdel Shahed - Bellevue
Erik Raisys - Mercer Island
Austin Stump - Puyallup
Dawson Allen - Gig Harbor
Jake Underwood - Gig Harbor
Taylor Power - Roosevelt
Wilson Ives - Roosevelt
Jake Davies - Kentridge
Jonathan Borte - Kentridge
Alex Toney - Auburn Mountainview